About the Deutscher Memorial Prize

Download PDF

Every year, this prize is awarded for a book which exemplifies the best and most innovative new writing in or about the Marxist tradition. The closing date for nominations is May 1st.

There is a modest prize of £500, the winning title is announced in the press, and the author is invited to deliver the following year’s Deutscher Memorial Lecture which generally takes place towards the end of November, and which has often been subsequently published in the New Left Review or Historical Materialism.

Short list for the 2016 prize:
Roberto Finelli, A Failed Parricide: Hegel and the Young Marx (Brill, 2015)
Bob Jessop, The State: Past, Present, Future (Polity, 2015)
Andreas Malm, Fossil Capital: The Rise of Steam Power and the Roots of Global Warming (Verso, 2016)
Tony Norfield, The City: London and the Global Power of Finance (Verso, 2016)
Anwar Shaikh, Capitalism: Competition, Conflict, Crises (Oxford University Press, 2016)

Interviews with former prize winners can be found here.

Current members of the Deutscher Jury include Gilbert Achcar, Alex Callinicos, Alejandro Colas, Ben Fine, Esther Leslie, Rob Knox, Alfredo Saad-Filho.

We gratefully acknowledge support from the Amiel-Melburn Trust.

Comments are closed.