The Deutscher

Memorial Prize

Welcome to the website for the
Isaac and Tamara Deutscher Memorial Prize.

Nominations are invited for the 2011 Prize – Closing Date: May 1st 2011

Deutscher Prize


The Deutscher
Memorial Prize 2010

Every year, this prize is awarded for a book which exemplifies the best and most innovative new writing in or about the Marxist tradition. 
The closing date for nominations is May 1st.

There is a modest prize of £500, the winning title is announced in the press, and the author is invited to deliver the following year’s Deutscher Memorial Lecture which generally takes place towards the end of November, and which has often been subsequently published in the New Left Review or Historical Materialism.

Current members of the Deutscher Jury include Gilbert Achcar, Alex Callinicos, Simon Clarke, Alejandro Colas, Ben Fine, Esther Leslie, Susan Marks, Marj Mayo, Sandy Nicoll and Alberto Toscano.

To find out more, click on one of the options on the left.



The 2010 Deutscher Prize
has been awarded to:
The Enigma of Capital and the Crises of Capitalism

by David Harvey
published by Profile Books

David Harvey was awarded the 2010 Deutscher Prize for The Enigma of Capital and the Crises of Capitalism
published by Profile Books

Harvey Book Cover